Sep 15, 2015

Freedom Partners Announces New Coalition to Keep the Caps

Post by Derek Yale

Arlington, VA – Today, President Obama called for increases in spending above the levels he agreed to and signed into law under the bipartisan Budget Control Act of 2011. In response, Freedom Partners Chamber of Commerce joined two-dozen organizations in sending a letter to Congress urging lawmakers to keep their promise and adhere to the spending caps.

Click here to view the letter in PDF format.


The full text of the letter appears below.

Dear Member of Congress:

On behalf of our organizations and the millions of members we represent, we urge you to ensure that any legislation providing discretionary funding for Fiscal Year 2016 adhere to the discretionary spending levels set forth by the Budget Control Act of 2011 (BCA).

Congress passed the BCA with bipartisan support and a promise to cap overall discretionary spending every year for the following decade. Even with these modest spending limits, discretionary spending will still increase in 2016 and every year thereafter.

Since its implementation, the BCA has been a rare victory for fiscal responsibility in Washington and has helped to control the growth of government spending and reduce deficits. Sadly, though not surprisingly, some in Washington want to abandon the BCA caps in order to spend more taxpayer money and add to the growing debt burden for current and future generations.

Facing an $18 trillion national debt, abandoning these modest spending limits by directly breaking the BCA caps or using budget gimmicks to get around them would be fiscally irresponsible and send a dangerous message to the American people. Hard-working Americans deserve to have their policymakers live up to their promises on spending. Under the BCA, total discretionary budget authority in FY 2016 is capped at $1.016 trillion. Any discretionary spending legislation exceeding that level would break the promise made to the American taxpayers.


Marc Short, President
Freedom Partners Chamber of Commerce 

Phil Kerpen, President
American Commitment 

Coley Jackson, President
Americans for Competitive Enterprise 

Rick Manning, President
Americans for Limited Government 

Brent Gardner, Vice President of Government Affairs
Americans for Prosperity 

Grover Norquist, President
Americans for Tax Reform 

Norm Singleton, Senior Vice President
Campaign for Liberty 

Andrew F. Quinlan, President
Center for Freedom & Prosperity 

Tom Schatz, President
Council for Citizens Against Government Waste 

David McIntosh, President
Club for Growth 

Jonathan Bydlak, President
Coalition to Reduce Spending 

Lawson Bader, President
Competitive Enterprise Institute 

Pete Hegseth, CEO
Concerned Veterans for America 

Penny Nance, President and CEO
Concerned Women for America 

Adam Brandon, President and CEO

Andrew Clark, President
Generation Opportunity 

Mario H. Lopez, President
Hispanic Leadership Fund 

Heather R. Higgins, President and CEO
Independent Women’s Voice 

Carrie Lukas, Managing Director
Independent Women’s Forum 

Daniel Garza, Executive Director
The Libre Initiative 

Brandon Arnold, Executive Vice President
National Taxpayer Union

Gov. Gary Johnson, Honorary Chair
Our America Initiative

Andrew Moylan, Executive Director
R Street Institute 

Steve Ellis, Vice President
Taxpayers for Common Sense 

Paul J. Gessing, President
Rio Grande Foundation